Plum Kuchen

Plum Kuchen

Dearest Friends
 
This week, I’m keeping things short and sweet, just like my Pastry Chef in Germany taught me. The lip smacking taste sensation that I spoke about last week has arrived…
 
Plum & Vanilla kuchenfor just R80  is a true German delight. Kuchen is a general name given to sweet yeasted cakes, usually served with coffee. They are usually flavoured with seasonal fruit and served (if you and your waistline can agree) with dollops of cream.
 
The taste of this yeasted cake will leave you somewhat puzzled. It’s moist, light and there is a complexity to its sweetness that most standard cakes simply do not have. I think that the secret lies somewhere in precision rising times — you want to get all of the lightness and height possible out of the dough and that can take up to 3 hours!
 
I’m proud to say that this week‘s kuchen has been approved by an official member of the GGBS (that’s the German Grandmothers Bureau of Standards). Thanks to a good friend in Koln for lending me her Grandmother’s ear (via Skype) to confirm that my recipe and method are 100% authentic!
 
Note that all deliveries are done on foot and are available to those of you based in the City Centre (in reasonable walking distance from Roeland Street). Alternatively, orders can be collected from Roeland Street. If you have any other foodie requirements (including wedding cakes, kiddies novelty cakes (I’ve just added Sponge Bob to my repertoire), mid–week meals “to go”, catered dinner parties etc.), please don’t hesitate to contact me.
 
Love, Kuchen und Schlagsahne,

Leila Padayachi
Tel. (021) 461 7113
 
PS. A new collection point in the Southern Suburbs is avaiable to those of you who can’t make it in to the CBD. Please let me know asap if your are interested in this offer which comes at no extra cost.

Posted by @UrbanWarriorSA (follow me on Twitter)

Leave a comment

Trending